Mixing It Up!

So, one Sunday afternoon, I sat staring uninspired at an unworn grey Old Navy sweater. I’d bought a grey and a turquoise last winter too (in a 3 for 2 deal), thinking I’d cut them up, and do some kind of color blocking. But, I just wasn’t feeling it……….WP_20140202_002

Back to that bottom shelf in my closet where I keep things that I might do something with (at least that’s what I tell myself).

Aha! That spotted cardigan from a Target sale rack. I love it, but it doesn’t look right on me.

WP_20140202_004

I decided to do a straight switch and simply put spotted sleeves on my sweater.

WP_20140202_007Unfortunately, in my haste to chop off the sleeves, I cut into the top of one 😦

WP_20140202_006 (2)

WP_20140202_006

Oh well, Plan B – we’ll go for 3/4 sleeves. I used the grey sleeve head as the guide to cut my spotted sleeves. Then just sewed them on with the serger. I tried on my new sweater, but it needed something more.

I cut the bottom off, just under the bust and made a tube with a scrap of black knit fabric, doubled it to make a wide band, and…….back to the serger.

Tried it on again – almost right, just needed a black neckline to tie everything together.

Yay, done! (And I still have a chunk of grey sweater, and the body of a spotted cardigan to play with another time!)

WP_20140206_001

Leave a comment