Testing out my Toaster

I joined the Project Sew My Style sew along organized by Alex at Bluebird Fabrics. Each month, we will all sew the same pattern, and post pics on social media.

The first pattern is the Toaster Sweater #2 from Sew House Seven. I bought a black and white knit fabric from Califabrics for this, but wanted to make a quick toile to check the fit. So, I picked up a very large man’s shirt at Goodwill ($3).

I knew I wouldn’t be able to get long sleeves out of this shirt, but figured it would give me an idea of the body size anyway.

First issue was the button front. I couldn’t cut around it, so switched it around to be on the back and just left one button on.

wp_20170115_14_30_01_pro

I was able to cut the back and front from the shirt pieces and made the sleeves as long as I could using the existing sleeve pieces.

wp_20170115_12_43_32_pro

The pattern is a pretty quick make. I think it’s going to be more flattering in my softer black and white fabric, and with the long sleeves, but I’ll wear this top – for an investment of $3, and a couple of hours, it will be a useful T-shirt alternative.

wp_20170115_14_29_46_pro wp_20170115_14_59_09_pro-2

Leave a comment