Shorter and Wider

I pulled a really cute grey dress out of the refashioning bag – it was too tight around the bust area, and a little too short for me – creates an attractive picture, eh?

I liked the neckline shape, and the print combo, but this wasn’t going to work without some changes.WP_20170409_13_44_24_Pro (2)

 

SO, first thing, cut out the plain grey lining, and shorten it to be a top – that bit was easy….tape measure, shears, overlocker.

NEXT, make it wide enough – not so easy……inspiring music, a strong coffee, and some thinking.

I decided to cut down the centre back, and use the grey lining fabric to make button and buttonhole bands adding an inch or so around the body. Well, that inch wasn’t really enough, so what now?

GOT IT – grabbed a piece of black sweatshirt fabric from the mess stash, and added a panel down the back. I didn’t bother with buttonholes, just stitched buttons through.

Leave a comment