Finding a Dress in the Men’s Department

So, I found myself having three XXL long-sleeved men’s T-shirts to play with – two rust, and one striped. I cut up one of the solid ones and made a simple tank for exercising, but still had lots of fabric to play with.

I decided to go with a dress. I used a tank I already have that I like the fit of, and made a bodice, cutting it off just below the bust – let’s accentuate the narrowest part, which is definitely not my waist. I lined it with a contrast – one of my son’s old grey T-shirts, and added ties into the V neck on the back.

For the skirt, I just had to be creative with the fabric I had. I cut the front and back rust T-shirt across at the armpit, and down the side seams to become rectangular front and back skirt panels. I cut open the sleeves, and used them “upside down” to create triangles on the sides (no side seams), adding flare to the skirt. The dress needed more length, so I added two hem borders – one using the striped shirt, just piecing it together.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Leave a comment