Getting legless!

WP_20160131_001  WP_20160131_002

Snagged a brand new pair of trousers at the $3 sale a few months ago. They were too big and long, but nice fabric, so went onto the “think about it for a while” shelf.

After the “while” had passed, I decided to convert them to a skirt – my preferred garment.

WP_20160131_006

Frank Turner on……………..First step was to cut the bottom of the legs off to above knee-length. I sewed straight down from the bottom of the fly and the bottom of the “bottom”, then cut off the excess. I wanted to keep the zip pockets, so to size the skirt down, I cut through either side of centre front and centre back.. After pinning to fit, I sewed the panels together, and topstitched.

To add length, and some contrast, I used the bottom of the Boho no-no, stitching the tie around the hem as trim. Added a couple of buttons from the stash….done!

WP_20160518_005WP_20160302_003

One response »

  1. Pingback: Flying by the Seat of Someone Else’s Pants | soundtrack to sewing

Leave a comment